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Pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 45, Parts 160 and 164 and agreement with the 
California Department of Health Care Services, all employees of the Department of Behavioral Health 
(DBH), or county, state and/or federal representatives, collecting, maintaining and/or utilizing client 
data, Protected Health Information (PHI) or Personally Identifiable Information (PII) in the course of 
their duties or research/auditing/review with DBH, shall sign this Oath of Confidentiality.   All DBH 
employees and other representatives must sign the Oath of Confidentiality upon hire and/or prior to 
accessing PHI or PII, and annually thereafter as appropriate.   

 

I,                          , will treat all PHI and PII revealed to me, contained in the 
Department’s client charts, computer files and/or other records, with a level of integrity and 
confidentiality as required by law.  I will not seek to learn or disclose information about any client or 
group of clients which is not necessary for my immediate job or business-related functions, whether or 
not I intend to reveal/disclose the information, and I will restrict access to PHI or PII, including any 
computer-generated information about a client or group of clients according to Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) “minimum necessary” standards [45 CFR 164.502(b) and 
164.514(d)].  

 

Civil Action 
I recognize the unauthorized use or release of confidential information may subject me to civil action 
pursuant to state and federal laws, including, but not limited to the following: 

 

California Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 5330    
(a) Any person may bring an action against an individual who has willfully and knowingly released 
confidential information or records concerning him or her for the greater of the following amounts: 

(1) Ten thousand dollars ($10,000). 
(2) Three times the amount of actual damages, if any, sustained by the plaintiff. 

(b) Any person may bring an action against an individual who has negligently released confidential 
information or records concerning him or her for both of the following: 

(1) One thousand dollars ($1,000). In order to recover under this paragraph, it shall not be a 
prerequisite that the plaintiff suffer or be threatened with actual damages. 
(2) The amount of actual damages, if any, sustained by the plaintiff. 

 

      United States (US) Code, Section 1320d-5 
  

Violation Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty 

Individual did not know (and by 
exercising reasonable diligence 
would not have known) that he/she 
violated HIPAA 

$100 per violation,  
with an annual maximum of 
$25,000 for repeat violations  
 

$50,000 per violation, with 
an annual maximum of $1.5 
million for repeat violations 

HIPAA violation due to reasonable 
cause and not due to willful neglect 

$1,000 per violation,  
with an annual maximum of 
$100,000 for repeat violations 

$50,000 per violation, with 
an annual maximum of $1.5 
million for repeat violations 

HIPAA violation due to willful 
neglect but violation is corrected 
within the required time period 

$10,000 per violation,  
with an annual maximum of 
$250,000 for repeat violations 

$50,000 per violation, with 
an annual maximum of $1.5 
million for repeat violations 
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HIPAA violation is due to willful 
neglect and is not corrected 

$50,000 per violation, 
with an annual maximum of $1.5 million for repeat violations 

 

Criminal Penalties 
I recognize that the U.S. Department of Justice has determined the following may be held criminally 
liable under the HIPAA:  

 Covered entities and specified individuals, whom "knowingly" obtain or disclose individually 
identifiable health information in violation of the Administrative Simplification Regulations face a 
fine of up to $50,000, as well as imprisonment up to one (1) year.  

 Offenses committed under false pretenses allow penalties to be increased to a $100,000 fine, 
with up to five (5) years in prison.  

 Offenses committed with the intent to sell, transfer, or use individually identifiable health 
information for commercial advantage, personal gain or malicious harm permit fines of 
$250,000, and imprisonment for up to ten (10) years. 

 

Records containing client PHI or PII shall be retained in a confidential folder as part of the program file.  
All files are to be stored in a secure and DBH-authorized location and/or database.  Records containing 
client PHI or PII are to be disposed of in accordance with applicable destruction standards and HIPAA.   
 

I hereby agree to adhere to County/State/Federal client privacy standards and will not access or 
disclose any PHI or PII concerning any client(s) without proper authorization in accordance with 
California Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 5328 and/or Title 42 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations, Part 2, Section 2.33. I acknowledge the enforcement of policies pertaining to client 
privacy, which may include corrective action. 

This Oath of Confidentiality will be retained by DBH and will be subject to inspection for one (1) year 
until a new Oath of Confidentiality is signed/recorded by DBH personnel.  

  
 
 

Name (Please print)  Position/Title 

   
  
 
 

Signature  Date                                              Employee ID                                      
 
 

cc:  Employee 201 File 
 Employee’s Direct Supervisor/Manager   
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