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Certification
Regulations

Purpose

Initial
Certification
Requirements

Any individuals providing intake, assessment of need for services, treatment
or recovery planning, individual or group counseling to participants, patients,
or residents in an alcohol and drug program (ADP) shall be licensed,
certified, or registered to obtain certification pursuant to Chapter 8 of Title 9,
California Code of Regulations, (commencing with Section 13000).
Employees must register to obtain certification within six (6) months of the
first date of hire and must complete certification within five (5) years after first
date of registration.

The counselor certification regulations were effective April 1,2005. Within 6
months of the date of hire, a counselor shall register to obtain certification by
one of the 10 certification organizations listed in the Counselor Certifying
Organizations list. The regUlations apply to all DBH/ADS staff and ADS
contract agencies performing alcohol and drug counselor duties.

Ensure OBH/AOS adhere to the laws of the State of California certification
requirements for AOD counselors.

Prior to certification as an AGO counselor, the certifying organization shall
require each registrant to:

a) Complete a minimum of 155 documented hours of formal classroom
AOD education.

b) Complete a minimum of 160 documented hours of supervised AOO
training.

c) Complete an additional 2,080 or more documented hours of paid or
unpaid work experience providing counseling services.

d) Obtain a score of at least seventy percent (70%
) on a written or oral

examination approved by the certifying organization.
e) Sign a statement documenting whether his/her prior certification as

an AOD counselor has ever been revoked.
f) Sign an agreement to abide by the certifying organization's code of

conduct.
* Authority cited: Title 9, Chapter 8, Section 13040
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Other
Requi rements
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The following are other requirements for counselors and licensed
professional:

Counselors: May qualify to test out until April 1, 2007, ~ they provide
written documentation to the certifying organization with whom they are
registered.
Types of documentation:

1. Registration to obtain certification with a certifying organization .
2. Employment in an AOD program providing counseling services for

the equivalent of 40 hours per week for a minimum of five years
between April 1, 1995 and April 1, 2005

3. Official diploma or written transcript of successful completion of an
associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree (A.A. , B.A.lB.S., or M.A.)
in the study of chemical dependency

4. Score of at least seventy percent (70%) on an oral and/or written
examination approved by certifying organization

• Authoritv cited: Title 9 Chapter 8, Section 13025
Licensed professionals: Licensed Physician, Clinical Social Worker
(LCSW), Marriage Family Therapist (MFT), Psychologist or interns
registered with the California Board of Psychology or the Californ ia Board of
Behavioral Sciences are not requ ired to be certified (Chapter 8, Section
13015) and must complete 36 hours of continuing education every two
years . All other professionals, including registered nurses , are required to
register and be certified to provide alcohol and drug counseling services.
Only RNs who work in methadone programs are exempt.
Requirements for Counselors Certified or Licensed in Other States or
by Other Certifying Organizations: The registrant/cert ified AOD
counselor shall provide proof of current certification with one of the
certifvina oraanizations listed in Chapter 8, Section 13035.
Confirmation of registration or certification: Employees must provide
proof of registration within six (6) months of the first date of hire and proof
of cert ification within five (5) years of the date of registration .
Renewal of Certification: Each AOD counselor is required to complete a
minimum of 40 hours of continuing education, approved by the certifying
organization, during each two-year period of certification (Chapter 8,
Section 13055). The registration/certification information must be
maintained in the employee's personnel file for the duration of employment.
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Roles and Written documentation of licensure, certification, or registration to obtain
Responsibilities certification and a copy of the code of conduct from the certifying
in Maintaining organization must be kept in staff personnel records. See the information
Records below for roles and responsibilities:

Staff Member Responsibility
Employee 1. Submit copy of registration/ certification

within six (6) months of the first date of hire
and become certified within five (5) years,
after first date of being registered.

2. Sign the Alcohol and Drug Counselors
Statement of Acknowledgement to
obtain registration/certification for
continued employment Maintain ongoing
registered/ certification status.

3. Post a copy of the registration/ certification
in the workstation.

Deputy Director/Program 1. Track registration/certification of all AOO
Manager counselors

2. Obtain copy of registration/ certification at
initial selection interview.

3. Submit registration/certification to the
Office Assistant III (OA III) in the Director's
office when due.

OA III/designee 1. Produce report identifying those individuals
whose registration/ certification is about to
expire or for whom no registration/
certification is on file.

2. Distribute report to appropriate deputy
directors and program managers who are
responsible for ensuring each employee
submits proof of registration/certification to
the OA III in the Director's office.

Contract agencies Submit registration/certification material to their
designated program manager.

Consequence
of Violations

County employees who fail to register to obtain certification within six (6)
months of the first date of hire and fail to be certified within five (5) years after
first date of being registered will be terminated. If AOD counselor does not
have a current registration/certification, he/she will not be allowed to perform
the duties of an alcohol and other drugs counselor as defined in Chapter 8,
Section 13005.

ADS 06-0201 Alcohol and Drug Services Page 3 of 4

http://www.sbcounty.gov/dbh/Forms/ADS004.pdf


Definitions

Related
Regulations

County of San Bernardino
Department of Behavioral Health

The following definitions apply to alcohol and other drugs terminology
pursuant to various sections of Chapter8:Section 1300

AOD - Alcohol and other drua nrocrarns.
Certified AOD Counselor - An individual certified by a certifying
orqanization, Chapter 8, Section 13035.
Certified Organization - An organization approved to certify individuals as
AOD counselors , Chaoter 8, Section 13035.
Counseling Services - evaluating participants', patients', or residents'
AOD treatment or recovery needs; developing and updating a treatment or
recovery plan; implementing the treatment or recovery plan; continuing
assessment and treatment planning; conducting individual counseling
sessions, group counseling sessions, face-te-face interviews, or counseling
families, couples, and other individuals significant in the life of the
participants, patients, or residents; and documenting counseling activities,
assessment, treatment and recovery planning, clinical reports related to
treatment provided, progress notes, discharge summaries, and allother
client related data.
Registrant - An individual registered with any certifying organization to
obtain certification as an AOD counselor.

Department of Alcohol & Drug Programs (ADP) , Adoption of Chapter 8­
Certification of Alcohol and Other Drug Counselors (commencing with
Section 1300), and Amendment of Sections 9848, 10125, and 10584,
Division 4, Title9, California Codeof Regulations induding Sections 9846,
10125,10584,13025,13040,13015, and 13005.
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