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ATTENTION DOG OWNERS 
California Tethering Law 

 
In January of 2007 the State of California enacted a law restricting the "tethering" of dogs. This law can be found in the 
Health and Safety Code Section, #122335, Dog Tethering.   

 
The law states that no person shall tether, fasten, chain, tie or restrain a dog to a dog house, tree, fence, or any 
other stationary object for more than 3 hours in a 24-hour time period. As an alternative, dogs may be attached 
to a running line, pulley, or trolley system, (See example below) but they may not be attached to these systems 
with either a choke or pinch collar. A violation of this anti-tethering law constitutes an infraction or 
misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances. A person convicted of an infraction will have to pay a fine of up 
to $250 for each dog illegally tethered, while a person convicted of a misdemeanor will have to pay a fine of up 
to $1000 for each dog illegally tethered and, in addition, may be sentenced to up to six months in the county 
jail. 

 
Animal Care and Control personnel will respond to complaints of a tethered dog that is in violation of this law. The 
officer will determine if the tethered animal is in need of prompt action, and if so, will act accordingly. Should prompt 
action not be required, a Notice of Violation will be issued to the dog owner for the violation to be corrected.  
 
The law does not prevent a person from walking a dog with a hand held leash or from restraining a dog according to the 
requirements of a camping or recreational area. In addition, dogs used for herding cattle or livestock, for cultivating 
agricultural products, or who are actively engaged in or training for a licensed activity are not subject to the same 
restrictions. 
 
If you have any questions about this law or    
would like to report a violation, please call the 
San Bernardino County Animal Care & Control 
Program toll free at 1 (800) 472-5609. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


