Date/Time Occurred: December 6, 2018
Operation: Minor decoy shoulder tap operation (tobacco).
Location: Chino Hills
The Chino Hills Police Department, in partnership with the California Department of Justice Divisions of Law Enforcement of tobacco sales, would like to remind all merchants and tobacco users of California Penal Code Section 308 (Tobacco Sales):
Every person, firm, or corporation that knowingly or under circumstances in which it has knowledge, or should otherwise have grounds for knowledge, sells, gives, or in any way furnishes to another person who is under 21 years of age any tobacco, cigarette, or cigarette papers, or blunt wraps, or any other preparation of tobacco, or any other instrument or paraphernalia that is designed for the smoking or ingestion of tobacco, tobacco products, or any controlled substance, is subject to either a criminal action for a misdemeanor or a civil action brought by a city attorney, a county counsel, or a district attorney, punishable by a fine of two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense, five hundred dollars ($500) for the second offense, and one thousand dollars ($1,000) for the third offense.
This subparagraph does not apply to the sale, giving, or furnishing of any of the products specified in clause (i) to active duty military personnel who are 18 years of age or older. An identification card issued by the United States Armed Forces shall be used as proof of age for this purpose.
The Chino Hills Police Department personnel will be conducting informative and enforcement operations to ensure local business compliance in conjunction with a grant provided by the California Department of Justice Divisions of Law Enforcement of tobacco sales. These operations will take place to ensure local business tobacco sales compliance and, in an effort to prevent under aged tobacco use.