Navigating California's Wage
& Hour Laws
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CEA Introduction & Disclaimer

- Providing HR support for employers since
1937

- Available Over the Phone, Online or Onsite

« Subject Matter Experts & In House Attorney

. Training-Compliance-Investigations-
Recruiting

This presentation should not be relied upon
as legal advice. Consult any attorney about any
issues of legal significance to you.

www.employers.org  800-399-5331

What We'll Cover Today

2018 Minimum Wage Laws
Exceptions and Exemptions
Independent Contractors and Interns
Meal and Rest Periods

Overtime Rules

Sick Leave & Holidays

Recordkeeping and Final Paychecks
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800.399.5331
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Where Do We Get Guidance?

CALIFORNIA LABOR CODE
and
INDUSTRIAL WELFARE COMMISSION
ORDERS

REGULATING WAGES, HOURS AND
WORKING CONDITIONS

www.employers.org  800-399-5331

Who Is An Employee?

An “Employee” is anyone who performs services for the
benefit of an employer. This includes minors and
undocumented workers.

Employees are not:

+ independent contractors
« volunteers

« students and trainees

+ partners and owners
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Minimum Wage Definitions

* Minimum Wage $10.50/hr. (25 or fewer) $11/hr. (26+)
* Workday

— Any consecutive 24-hour period beginning at the
same time each calendar day

* Workweek
— Any 7 consecutive days, starting with the same
calendar day each week
» Importance of Defining Your Workday & Workweek
» Regular Rate of Pay includes:
— Commissions, production/nondiscretionary bonuses,
piece work earnings, and (perhaps) value of meals
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and lodging
California
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SB3: Minimum Wage
Increase

WHY?

Gov. Brown
established a
mandatory
wage
increase
(SB3-2017)
All
employees
earn at least
$15/hr by
2023
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B | Asccciztion

2018 Minimum Wage Increase

m Small Employer | Large Employer

=) 2018 $10.50 $11.00
2019 $11.00 $12.00
2020 $12.00 $13.00
2021 $13.00 $14.00
2022 $14.00 $15.00
2023 $15.00 $15.00
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29 Cities and Counting..

+ Berkeley, Cupertino, El Cerrito, Emeryville,
Long Beach, Los Altos, Los Angeles City and
County, Malibu, Milpitas, Mountain View,
Oakland, Palo Alto, Pasadena, Richmond, San
Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, San Leandro,
San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Monica, and
Sunnyvale.

+ Hotels in Long Beach, Los Angeles, Santa
Monica

+ Great fact sheet on our website - HR
Answers/Additional Resources

California
== Sl e
Exempt vs. Non-Exempt
+ Paid a flat salary for EXEM PT
the skill they bring to
the job + Paid by the hour for
« Exempt from wage the work they do
orders & overtime » Not exempt from
laws, etc. wage orders &
+ Must pass exemption overtime laws
test which has a duties * Breaks/lunches/OT
test and a salary test
Exemption tests are critical!
W@ | cionia
] Employets. employers.org  800-399-5331
More on Exemptions
Qualifications Types of Exemptions
* Non-exempt until + Administrative
classified otherwise « Executive
» Employees must pass « Professional
tLe%E aduty & salary + Computer Professional
Sal . ($42.35/hr.; $88,088)
* Salary Test: - Physicians ($77.15/hr.;
2><Stahte Minimum Wage x $160,472)
2,080 hours eci
' + Commissioned Sales
0543680 025 People
employees + Exemption worksheets
01$45,760 26+ are available on CEA
employees Website




Exceptions to Wage and Hour Laws

Parent, Child, Spouse of Employer

» Completely exempt from Wage Orders

Partner and Shareholders

» Owners of business exempt from wage and hour laws

* Power to influence, exposure to liability, ability to control
Independent Contractors & Interns

* Do you 1099 anyone?

* What defines someone as an Independent Contractor?
* What defines a paid or unpaid intern?

9/4/2018

[N} California
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DEmp.’oyee
b 7 (] Independent
| Contractor
Employee or Independent Contractor?
ha California
B@ | 0o,

ABC Independent Contractor Test

The California Supreme Court has found that a hiring entity, in
order to prove that an independent contractor is not an
employee for purposes of the Wage Orders must establish
each of the three factors embodied in the ABC test — namely,
that the worker:

A. s free from the control and direction of the hiring entity in
connection with the performance of the work, both under the
contract for the performance of the work and in fact;

B. Performs work that is outside the usual course of the
hiring entity's business; and

C. Is customarily engaged in an independently established
trade, occupation, or business of the same nature as the work
performed.

W@ | cliomia
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Independent Contractors

« Neither exempt or non-exempt employee

« Consider the relevant factors to determine status
v'right to control work
v'whether it's an integral part of work
v distinct occupation - skill required
v ability to manage their opportunities for profit or loss
v economic independence from the organization
v'length of time
v"method of payment

Source: EDD - Form DE 38
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Paid vs Unpaid Interns - State

In California, an unpaid intern’s training must meet

all of the following four tests:

» The training must be an essential part of an
established course of an accredited school or of
an institution approved by a public agency to
provide training for licensure or to qualify for a
skilled vocation or profession.

» The program may not be for the benefit of any
one employer.

» A current employee may not be displaced by the
trainee.

+ The training must be supervised by the school or a
disinterested agency.

www.employers.org
800.399.5331

Paid vs. Unpaid Interns — Federal

* 1/18 - the DOL clarified their understanding of
paid versus unpaid interns by creating a 7 factor
primary beneficiary test.

— If the employer is the primary beneficiary, then
the intern must be compensated as an
employee under the minimum wage provisions
of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

— If the intern primarily benefits from the
relationship, the internship can be unpaid.

» No single factor is determinative of whether an
intern is paid or unpaid.

www.employers.org
800.399.5331




DOL 7 Factor “flexible test”

« Theintern and the employer clearly understand that there is no
expectation of compensation. For example, any promise of .
compensation, express or implied, suggests that the internis an
employee.

« The internship provides training that would be similar to that which
would be ﬁiven in an educational environment, including the clinical and
other hands-on training provided by educational institutions.

« The internship is tied to the intern’s formal education program by
integrated coursework or the receipt of academic credit.

« The internship accommodates the intern’s academic commitments by
corresponding to the academic calendar.

« The internship’s duration is limited to the period in which the internship
provides the intern with beneficial learning.

« Theintern's work complements, rather than displaces, the work of paid

employees while providing significant educational benefits to the intern.

The intern and the employer understand that the internship is

conducted without entitlement to a paid job at the conclusion of the

internship.

W@ | o s employers.org
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Meal Periods and Rest Breaks

California
Employers
Association

Meal Periods / Lunches

* An employer may not
permit an employee to

work for a period of more [T Al 1 et st
than five hours per day Periods
without providing a meal
period of not less than 30 Lessthans 0
minutes. Over 5 up to 1

« Employees must start 10
their meal period BEFORE Over 10 2

the end of the 5t hour.

@ | caliomia
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A Meal "Break” For Employers

» Employers need only provide meal breaks, not
“ensure” employees take them. The court found
the staffing company had satisfied its own duty
to provide meal periods by:

— Having adopted its own lawful meal period policy,

— Contractually requiring its client to comply with all
applicable laws, and

— Instructing its employee to immediately report to it
if she was being prevented from taking authorized
meal periods.

« See Serrano v. Aerotek, Inc.
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Employer Do's and Don'ts

Employers Must:

= Relieve employees of all duty

= Relinquish control over employees' activities

= Permit the employee a reasonable opportunity to take
an uninterrupted meal period

Employers May Not:

» Impede or Discourage employees from taking meal
period

= Coerce employees not to take a meal period

W@ | cionia
Employ
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Meal Period Example

Shift: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

» 15t hour: 8:00 to 8:59
» 2"d hour: 9:00 to 9:59
» 34 hour: 10:00 to 10:59
> 4t hour: 11:00 to 11:59
» 5t hour: Noon to 12:59

First meal period must begin before 12:59 pm

Q@ | e, o employers.org
B | Assocition 800.399.5331




Waiving Meal Periods

First meal period may be waived by mutual
consent of the employee and the employer, if:

* The employee works no more than six hours
on the day in question.

Second meal period may be waived if:

* The first meal period was not waived; and

* The employee works no more than 12 hours
on the day in question.
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Wage Order - Rest Periods

“Every employer shall authorize and permit all
employees to take rest periods, which insofar as
practicable shall be in the middle of each work
period.

The authorized rest period time shall be based on
the total hours worked daily at the rate of ten (10)
minutes net rest time per four (4) hours or
major fraction thereof. ”

California
Employers
Association

Rest Periods & DLSE FAQ's

» Anemployeris to “authorize

and permit” an employee to  [TPSTs e Rest
take ten minutes “net” rest Periods
time for every 4 hours
worked _
' 0-3.5 0
* Rest periods need not be
recorded on time cards Over3.5upto6 1

» DLSE Interpretation of
Augustus v. ABM —
“...employers must relieve
their employees of all duties O B D I 2
and relinquish any control

over how employees spend
their break time.” O I E ) g

California
Employers
Association




. WORKING
3 VERTIME
i

Overtime Laws

9/4/2018

California
Employers
Association

Daily Overtime Requirement

Must be paid 1-1/2 times regular rate of pay

— For work over 8 hours in a day

— For any work over 40 hours in a workweek

— For the first 8 hours worked on the 7" day worked in a workweek
Must be paid 2 times regular rate of pay

— For work in excess of 12 hours in a day

— After 8 hours on the seventh workday in a workweek
Minors

— Itis a misdemeanor to require a minor to work more than eight

hours in any one workday, regardless of whether overtime is paid.

California
= Employers

Association

Calculating Overtime Pay

Overtime pay rates are based on an employee's
"regular rate" of pay. Don't confuse regular rate &
hourly rate.

The regular rate includes:

= hourly rate

= non-cash payments

= non-discretionary bonuses (planned)
= standby or "on-call" payments

shift differentials

retroactive pay increases

W@ | cliomia
Employer
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Flat Rate Bonus Impact to Pay

» Employee is paid $11.00/hr.

+ Flat bonus of $15/day wknd attendance bonus

» 45 hours worked in workweek (40 regular, 5 OT)
+ $11.00 x 40 reg hours = $440.00

* $11.00x 5 OT x 1.5 hours = $82.50

But wait there's more....

» Calculate OT on bonus: $15/40 hrs x 1.5 = $2.80
» Total Comp: $440 + $82.50 + 2.80 + 15 = $540.30
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Reporting Time Pay
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Reporting Time Pay

» Definition: Each workday an employee is
required to report to the worksite and does
report, but is not put to work or gets less than
2 usual or scheduled day’s work.

» Requirement: Pay ¥ scheduled hours but no
less than 2 nor more than 4 hours.

— Scheduled meetings, acts of God, are exceptions.

» ldea: Ask for volunteers to leave if you don’t
have work — don’t have to pay them.

11



Standby Time

« Employees are on standby if they are required to be available to work
after the regular workday ends or on a day off. For example, if they are
required to respond to pages or monitor phones during off hours.

« Standby time is considered hours worked if employees are subject to
their employer's "control" and unable to pursue personal activities.

— Example: off-duty employees who must return to the office within 15 minutes of
a call are on controlled standby because they cannot go out of town or make
dinner plans. This time counts as hours worked, and employees must be paid
for the time.

« Employees who are free to use their standby time for personal pursuits

are on "uncontrolled" standby. This time is not compensable and
therefore employees need not be paid for this time.

W@ | cionia
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Time Off Benefits
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Employers
B | Asccciztion

Holiday Pay

Employers are NOT required to:

+ Pay employees Holiday pay if they close for
a holiday.

. PaY additional pay for work on a holiday
unless the employee has worked in excess
of a 40 hour, 8 hour per day work week.

+ Close on a holiday or give employees the
day off.

If an employee works on a holiday - they are

only entitled to their usual rate of pay.

i www.employers.org
Association 800.399.5331
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Paid Sick Leave

Statewide:
— Minimum 3 days/24 hours

— Can accrue the time - one hour for every 30
worked

— Lump Sum of 24 hours
— Can require employee to wait 90 days to use
— Not paid out at termination

Local Ordinances:

— Be aware of ordinances for where your
employees are working!

E,‘Jgﬁ;;‘ﬁ,’k www.employers.org
Association 800.399.5331
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Paying Out Benefits

[ _Mon | _Tues | Wed | Thurs | __Fri |

A 8 hours
8 Holiday Paid Sick 8 hours 8 8
Pay eee PTO

+ Jessica works M —
* Monday is a Holiday
« Tuesday - she calls in sick
+  Wednesday - she takes a prescheduled day off
« How many hours did Jessica actually work this week?
Answer: Jessica worked 16 hours because she performs her job duties
Thursday and Friday. Hours worked do not include time when employees
receive pay without performing job duties such as for holidays, paid time
off and paid sick leave time.

W@ | cionia
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Wage Statements

[T} Galfaria
Employers
B@ | Focdion

13



Wage Statement Requirements

« Gross earnings
* Net wages earned
+ Total hours worked (except for exempt)

Hourly rates of pay + corresponding number of hours
worked / pay rate

All deductions (can aggregate employee authorized
deductions)

Dates of the payroll period

+ Employee’s name

+ Employer’s legal name and address

+ Employee’s SSN can be last 4 digits but not whole SSN
Paid Sick Leave Balance (or on a separate document)

9/4/2018
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Accurate Wage Statements

Labor Code § 226(a)

[SMITH AND COMPANY, INC.

123 West Street Smalitown, CA 98765 |

|EMPLOYEE SOCIAL SECURITY NO. PAY RATE  PAY PERIOD

dnhnsan‘ Bob XXX-XX-6789 18.00 regular  2/11/02 to 21702
27.00 overtime A dedxtions

[EARNINGS [HOURS|AMOUNT [DEDUCTIONS AMOUNT

Regular 40.00[  720.00 Federal WiH 60.45

Overtime 200]  54.00 FICA 49,67,
Medicare 12.36
CA State WH 10.04]
CA State DI 7.12
401k 77.40)

[GROSS EARNINGS: 774 00| N

TOTAL DEDUCTED: __ 217.04

[NET EARNINGS: 556.96]

Paid Sick Leave time here or on separate
sheet with check.

Employees' Right to Inspect or
Copy

+ Upon a written request from current or
former employee (or representative),
employer must provide a copy of personnel
records within 30 days and payroll records
within 21 days.

» Maintain records for minimum of 3 years after
termination of employment

» Employer can make the records available for
inspection or provide them by mail

+ $750 penalty

+ LC1198.5and LC 226

s, oz rg

Association 800.399.5331

14



Employee Inspections

Right to inspect does not include:
— Letters of reference

— Reports obtained prior to employment/letters of
reference

— Investigation notes of a possible criminal offense
Right to inspect does include, for example:

— Notices of commendation and/or discipline

— Notices of layoff, termination, LOA, vacation

— Notices of wage garnishments

— Education and training notices

— Attendance records

— Performance reviews

9/4/2018
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Pay at Termination

» Final Pay should be a “live” (aka manual) check

+ Final Pay is paid at employee’s primary work location

 Involuntary termination OR voluntary resignation with more
than 72 hours notice (calendar days), all earned wages and
accrued vacation due on last day of employment

+ Voluntary resignation without notice, all earned wages and
accrued vacation due within 72 hours after notice is given

— Not obligated to mail paycheck unless employee requests in
writing payment by mail and provides mailing address

— Date of mailing is considered date of payment
» Special rule for commissions and expense reports

Clkiinis s employers.org
Association 800.399.5331

Penalties

« Employee may file action with DLSE
— Unpaid wages up to 3 years back
— Waiting time penalties up to 30 days wages
— Interest

— Employee has up to 4 Years to file claim for unpaid wages
from the date the wages were earned

* Failure to pay minimum wage
— $100 for each pay period, and each employee underpaid
— $250 for similar subsequent violations

www.employers.org
800.399.5331
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SAN BERNARDINO

PROVIDING THE WORKFORCE ASSISTANCE YOU NEED
FROM OUR BUSINESS RESI

Septembers®, 2008

jaimed

Register: s/

September 117, 2018

Regiter: e/
September 137, 2018
Gyof San Bemardino

201N €St S Bemardins, G 52410"2nd oo Taining Rocn”
Regite: "tps wibsa sandusecan everbre i

September 27°, 2008
High Desest Amesica’s Job Centter of Gallfornta.
17310 Bear Valley Road #109 Victorvile, (A 52395

Regiter: tps wdbinstagram 101, eventicte.com

Gtyof San Bemandino
201 NESt. San Bemmardina, (A 92410 "2nd Flooe Traiing Room”
Begite: s/ /sdbmanutacturingtax eventhrte com

OUNTY | Workforce Development Board

&

\/"‘w WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD
COUNTY

BUSINESS CONNECTIONS

Weall have questions.
Now YOU can get the answers!

San Bermardino County Workforce Development Beard
s st wih e ot Emppes Ascincn toprae
enplyers i S BermastogCoury et acess i .

FREE Human Resources
JTLINE

Protect your basiness from costlyfines and penalties.
For general HA questions, pick up the phane and call!

@.1-877-282-3763

October 1%, 208

Ontara Camber of Garmmerce
3200 Intand Empire Boulevard #130 Ontario, (A 91764
Regiter htps/wibbuidingstiong edteams evertite.am

©

October 16%, 208

Registr:htpsd/webenirageieavectbsence.evertbitte com
October 18%, 20% @‘

November 1%, 2018

Gty of Rediands \"O

membership:

*  HR Check-Ups

Updates

CEA Member Services
Today's a great day to join or upgrade your
* HR Subject Matter Experts

« Forms, Tools, and Online Resources
+ Sample Employee Handbook with Annual

» Discounted CEA Products
Reach Your CEA Membership Director
(800) 399-5331 or ceainfo@employers.org

W@ | cliomia
1 Employers www.employers.org 800-399-5331
@ | sssociation
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Questions?

.. California
Employers
.. Association ..
ceainfo@employers.org

www.employers.org
Thank you for being here today!
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California

Employers employers.org + 800.399.5331
Association

Here to Support Employers

Thank you for attending!

HRCI - 346228
SHRM- 18-VQUFB
CEA HR After Hours

Our HR experts are now
available to take calls from
Premier and Associate members
morning, noon and night!

800.399.5331
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