Coroner – Additional Information

To report a death, please call (909) 387-2978.

View today’s schedule

Please refresh the page if today’s schedule does not appear after you open the link. Refresh is the circle with an arrowpoint icon near the home icon

NameEmail
Acevedo, Anaaacevedo@sbcsd.org
Coleman, Bradleybcoleman@sbcsd.org
Dement, Kacikdement@sbcsd.org
Ditfurth, Corrinacditfurth@sbcsd.org
Fleak, Elissaefleak@sbcsd.org
Foster, Taylortfoster@sbcsd.org
Fostore, Carolcfostore@sbcsd.org
Johnson, Markmkjohnson@sbcsd.org
London, Rebeccarlondon@sbcsd.org
Morgan, Shawnsmorgan@sbcsd.org
Ortiz, Virgilviortiz@sbcsd.org
Padilla, Juliannejpadilla@sbcsd.org
Padilla, Mercedesmpadilla@sbcsd.org
Primeaux, Andreaprimeaux@sbcsd.org
Ramos, Hollyhramos@sbcsd.org
Saldana, Conniecsaldana@sbcsd.org
Seavey, Stepheniesseavey@sbcsd.org
Spiller, Williamwspiller@sbcsd.org
Stein, Taratstein@sbcsd.org
Valentin, Alondraavalentin@sbcsd.org
Woods, Kylekwoods@sbcsd.org

The Coroner’s office may release property directly to the legal next-of-kin, or to any other person furnishing written authorization from the legal next-of-kin.  The Coroner’s office releases property during regular business  hours, excluding holidays. Monday thru Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. To schedule an appointment, please call (909) 387-2978.

A copy of the autopsy and coroner investigation can be obtained for a $11.00 fee, payable by cash or money order only to San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department.

When requesting information include name of deceased, date of death, coroner case number, your name, mailing address, phone number and your relationship to the decedent.

Mail:
San Bernardino County Coroner
175 S. Lena Rd
San Bernardino, CA 92415
Attn CRNR-Requests

Fax: (909) 387-2989
Email: crnr-requests@sbcsd.org

The email above is for requesting coroner reports ONLY.  For any other inquiries, please call (909) 387-2978.

Certified copies of the Death Certificate are initially ordered for the family by the funeral director handling final arrangements.  Additional copies may be purchased from:

San Bernardino County Department of Public Health
351 N. Mountain View Avenue
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0010
(800) 782-4264

www.sbcounty.gov/dph/

EDRS Issues – Please email dcdesk@sbcsd.org

Please allow up to 3 business days for a response as we are experiencing higher than normal requests.  Services should not be scheduled until a case number is provided.  If there is no demographic information the record will not be reviewed until completed.

To speak to a Coroner Supervisor please call the main number at (909) 387-2978 and ask to be connected to the on-duty Watch Commander. For email requests to the supervisor staff, and for a more prompt response, please address to COR-WC@sbcsd.org

California State Law requires relatives of the deceased to provide for the disposition of the remains (Health and Safety Code sections 7100 and 7103). Failure to act in a timely manner is a criminal misdemeanor violation and results in the Next-of-Kin being required to pay up to three times the cost of the disposition.

The San Bernardino County Sheriff-Coroner Indigent Interment is designed for decedents without family, abandoned decedents, or families that have a hardship and are unable to handle disposition. By allowing or requesting the County to handle disposition, the Next-of-Kin is relinquishing their rights.

The general order of priority for the duty of disposition of remains and including the liability for reasonable costs is:

  1. Agent under durable power of attorney.
  2. Spouse
  3. Adult Children
  4. Parent
  5. Adult Siblings
  6. Public Administrator

If the deceased and Next-of-Kin are both unable to pay for the disposition, the county will cremate and bury per its procedure. No service or viewing is allowed and remains will not be returned to the family. If buried, the burial site will be an unmarked plot in the County Cemetery. Eligible veterans are usually interred in a military cemetery plot.

If you understand and qualify for the need to request Indigent Interment, please complete the following forms:

  1. Request for Indigent Interment/Cremation (PDF)
  2. Request for Indigent Interment/Cremation – Spanish (PDF)
  3. Death Certificate Statistics Form
  4. Estadistica Para Acta de Defuncion (Spanish Form)
  5. Cremation Authorization Form

If you are a hospital/mortuary referring an abandoned case, please complete the 7100 Indigent packet and read the instructions:

  1. 7100 Packet Instructions
  2. 7100 Referral
  3. 7100 Law

For indigent status email coroner-indigent@sbcsd.org

You may also call (909) 387-2978, option 9 to leave a message for the Indigent Liaison.

Calendar

Calendar of Events

M Mon

T Tue

W Wed

T Thu

F Fri

S Sat

S Sun

0 events,

1 event,

Courtroom Procedures

0 events,

0 events,

0 events,

0 events,

0 events,

1 event,

2 events,

Elder Abuse Investigations

0 events,

0 events,

0 events,

1 event,

Fentanyl Awareness

2 events,

Interview and Interrogation

Driving Under the Influence

0 events,

0 events,

1 event,

0 events,

0 events,

0 events,

1 event,

Field Training Officer

2 events,

Report Writing

1 event,

1 event,

1 event,

0 events,

0 events,